Which are the Most Popular Cricket Leagues in India?

Which are the Most Popular Cricket Leagues in India?

Cricket is one of the most popular sports in India that game enthusiasts love to watch and play. It is a game that involves a ball, a bat and two cricket teams competing in the field. The Board of Control for Cricket in India manages the sport in India. It features numerous leagues that are quite entertaining to watch and wager on the top betting apps in India.

Below are the famous Indian cricket leagues.

Indian Premier League (IPL)

One of the most popular leagues in India is the IPL that was launched in 2008. Each season comes up around March to April of every year to keep the fans glued on their screens. The league comprises of eight skilled teams managed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India. It has a vast fan base not only in India but also globally who attend the matches physically or follow online. The league has had twelve seasons in total from the time it began the tournaments. The last 2019 season saw the Mumbai Indians as the trophy champions.

Karnataka Premier League (KPL)

KPL is quite a popular league with a massive number of fans who follow the matches in all the seasons. It has been around for over a decade, and since its launch in 2009 by the Karnataka State Cricket Association, it is still going strong despite a few scandals that rocked the league. It also has eight professional teams that usually contest in August and September. It has covered seven seasons since it was formed, and the current league champions are the Hubli Tigers.

T20 Mumbai League

The Mumbai Cricket Association formed the T20 Mumbai League in 2018 to identify and boost local talent in Mumbai. Although it is a new league in the Cricket world, it offers a platform that brings future cricket champions together. The league comprises of eight teams. Currently, the North Mumbai Panthers hold the championship title.

Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNLP)

Tamil Nadu is a popular league among the punters which was launched in 2016 by Tamil Nadu Cricket Association. It has eight teams which represent the districts. The tournaments usually occur every year in July and August and follow the round-robin arrangement. Since its launch, the TNLP has covered four seasons successfully. In the last tournament, the Chapauk Super Gillies emerged the winners of the season

Saurashtra Premier League (SPL)

Saurashtra is a new entrant in the world of cricket leagues. Saurashtra Cricket Association formed the league in 2019, and it consists of five teams. Saurashtra is quite a promising league since its first contest in May of 2019 where Sorath Lions came out victorious.

Rajwada Cricket League(RCL)

Rajwada is among the most popular leagues with a huge fan base. Kota District Cricket association came up with this incredible league in 2016. With seven teams on the line-up, each season is quite exciting and rewarding for the fans. The tournaments are set from February each year. In the last season, the Kota Chambal Tigers carried the trophy home.

Odisha Premier League (OPL)

Odisha is a professional league that was launched in 2011 by Odisha Cricket Association. The league has eight strong teams with skilled players competing in various matches and tournaments that follow the knockout and double-round-robin setup. In the recent season, the Chilika team won the cup.



Related post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.